Mother’s Day Biggle’s Way

Biggles has seen him. Have you seen him? Well my moma wanted to see HIM.

One of the finest in modern hard-rock is Finland’s HIM. They happen to be my moma’s favorite band  (apart from Aerosmith,duh).

Walking into the House of Blues Orlando, we started scouring the crowd for a good vantage point of the stage. We settled for a spot side stage on the steps of the pit and watched the last half of opening act, We the Fallen? or We are the Fallen?. I’m not sure on the name exacts, but the lead singer finally stood out to me when she shouted “Lets do some Iron Maiden!” Never have I seen a girl-fronted band cover Iron Maiden. It was a great performance. I could tell she’d achieved that “I can rock as hard as the boys” status she was desperately striving for.

I then seemed to be out of sync with the whole crowd’s enthusiasm when Jane’s Addiction played over the sound system. Between bands, their singing and dancing had ceased and channeled to me throwing my arms up as “Coming Down the Mountain!” screeched out the speakers. Maybe they were just reserving for when HIM takes the stage.

Soon after, HIM took the stage to dramatic red stage lights. Every goth girl (and my moma) swooned as Villa Valo began to sing in his darkly baritone voice. His dapper attire and sultry looks proved to be too much for one heavy set girl by song three. I then found myself a human speed bump to her NFL line backer force. From my stance on the steps, I only caught a glimpse of her making way out the crowd towards me before I was hit. I figured the only way to survive was to let the steps catch me, go fetal position and hope to avoid complete crushing. Luckily, moma picked me up by the arms before the second part of my plan. Surrounding crowd hadreached for me while my attacker continued on her path in bull fashion and she was thus, never confronted. But that was my second ‘first time seeing or experiencing something’ at a concert.

The third ‘first time concert experience’ came a few songs later when I couldn’t help noticing how long the couple beside me had been hugging. As the song ended, “I just got engaged!”  could be heard throughout the venue. Aside for feeling excited for them, it was still a bit odd to be practically sharing in their moment. I hope they make it, I think it’ll be a lovely story to tell their kids one day!

I was glad to have the crowd keeping me so occupied as moma revelled in her favorite songs. I eventually caught on to their vibe and enjoyed the small dose of metal enough that I would have fancied meeting their guitarist to compliment his playing and his Bad Brains t-shirt! I had fully caught myself enjoying the concert when I was bopping about to the encore cover of Billy Idol’s ‘Rebel Yell’.

xx

Biggles

~ by 63antics on 05/03/2010.

Leave a Reply

 
